Reoriented

“Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school.”

-Albert Einstein

What have I learned about programming, and OOP in general?

One of the biggest eye-openers is very simple. An idea that can easily get lost when using high level languages or discussing the philosophy of what’s right and wrong in programming. It’s also lost on anyone who doesn’t study computer science in school and only programming (/raisehand). Just like we don’t consciously think about tying our shoes, we don’t always think about the intricate roots of programming when we’re doing it.

The idea is that math is the basis for programming, and follows much of the same rules of mathematics. Math and programming both share certain protocols for operating on data sets. Those protocols include things like inputs, outputs, domains, ranges, abstractions, and functions. I’m no math whiz, but I’ll do my best to explain what I mean. Continue reading

